Sunday, December 13, 2015

Indian Parliament - Basic Facts

Parliament is the supreme legislative body of India. 

The Indian Parliament comprises of the President and the two Houses - Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People). 

The President of India is elected by the members of an electoral college consisting of the elected members of both Houses of Parliament and the elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of the States and Union Territories

The President has the power to summon and prorogue either House of Parliament or to dissolve Lok Sabha.

The Constitution of India came into force on January 26, 1950. 

The first general elections under the new Constitution were held during the year 1951-52 and the first elected Parliament came into existence in April, 1952.

The Constitution provides that the maximum strength of the House (of the People) be 552 members.
530 members to represent the States, 
20 members to represent the Union Territories, 
and 2 members to be nominated by the President from the Anglo-Indian Community. 

At present, the strength of the House is 545 members.

The origin of Rajya Sabha can be traced back to 1919, when in pursuance to the Government of India Act, 1919, a second chamber known as the Council of States was created.

The Rajya Sabha is to consist of not more than 250 members - 238 members representing the States and Union Territories, and 12 members nominated by the President.

Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution. However, one third of the members retire every second year, and are replaced by newly elected members. Each member is elected for a term of six years.

The Vice President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha. 

No comments: